|

11-29-2004, 10:56 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by xanbo
I been browsing this board for a few days now; I've read this thread and the unauthorized mailorder dealer thread; I've reviewed resources outside of this board. And I cannot find anything possitive or negative about Safer Seas.
They have the Sony pd-170 NTSC for $2895 here, and many months ago over the phone they offered me "grey-market" units of the pd-150 model even cheaper than their advertised prices.
I'd like to trust them but unles someone can point me to some credible possitive feedback, I think I'll steer clear.
Thanks, I'm enjoying this board!
|
Call Sony @ 800-222-7669 ask for the pro division phone number and they can tell you if they are a pro dealer or not.
|

11-30-2004, 03:43 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: buckeye country
Posts: 78
|
|
|
Thanks for the number xl1s. It's a little late for a call now but I'll post the results after I call.
In the mean time I'm checking out the reputable professional dealers. I really appreciate the tip to ask if a camera is available below the price the authorized vendors must advertise.
Last edited by xanbo : 11-30-2004 at 03:46 AM.
|

11-30-2004, 01:12 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by xanbo
Thanks for the number xl1s. It's a little late for a call now but I'll post the results after I call.
In the mean time I'm checking out the reputable professional dealers. I really appreciate the tip to ask if a camera is available below the price the authorized vendors must advertise.
|
You're welcome.
|

11-30-2004, 06:16 PM
|
 |
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missouri, USA; (NTSC)
Posts: 4,453
|
|
|
As much as I'm on the Internet and like finding out what others say, I am pretty hesitant to risk MY money. So, although a new place MAY be great and safe, unless and until there is good feedback from OTHERS trying it out first, I am probably going to go with another dealer. It is too easy to "shill" 90-100% positive reviews when there only 10 of them covering 30 days.
On the other hand, I'm happy to support competition among the authorized sane genuine dealers and I will shop at whomever has good reviews with a good track record at the prices I want.
__________________
Sony HDV camcorder info (FX1, CX7, HC3 HC5, SR1/3/5/10, SR11, SR12, TG1, UX1, Z1) -> http://www.SonyHDVinfo.com
|


12-04-2004, 02:39 PM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
|
|
|
Onecall is staffed (hopefully, partially) with crooks. I have purchased a PV-GS400 and it suffers from "tape transport noise" issue. I called Onecall and its representative (don't remember his name now) said that IT WAS NORMAL for small camcorders, and that was AFTER Panasoni admitted that there is a problem. Like a fool, I believed him and did not request an RMA. I will never buy anything else from this liars.
|

12-20-2004, 12:27 PM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 19
|
|
Panasonic link only lists local retailers
I'm looking for authorized online retailers to buy a GS400. The Panasonic link asks for my zip code, then gives me local retail stores. How do I find a list of online authorized retailers?
Thanks.
|

12-20-2004, 01:13 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by belliott
I'm looking for authorized online retailers to buy a GS400. The Panasonic link asks for my zip code, then gives me local retail stores. How do I find a list of online authorized retailers?
Thanks.
|
For some reason over a year ago they removed the online dealers that listed 14 of us. Now what you have to do is when you find a web site get the zip code and see if they show up on that list. So it still works as a dealer list online & store front.
|

12-30-2004, 01:53 AM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
|
|
|
Question About Buying Online
|

01-02-2005, 06:26 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
|
|
PRICE GRABBER + Abe's of Maine
First off, if there are all these dishonest, fly-by-night dealers, and it is widley known throught this website, why are there pricegrabber links that contain these sleezy merchants? Can't they be removed? Someone trusting this website may see those prices and try to purchase from one of the unauthorized dealers......just a thought
also....
I haven't heard anything about Abe's of Maine positive or negative, only seen their prices listed on price grabber. Are they trustworthy?
|

01-03-2005, 11:41 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: buckeye country
Posts: 78
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Berkeleygabe
I haven't heard anything about Abe's of Maine positive or negative, only seen their prices listed on price grabber. Are they trustworthy?
|
I've never dealt with them, but I've heard very good things.
|

01-04-2005, 07:50 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
|
|
|
Abes of Maine
I wish I would have found this thread as it contains very useful information for buying camcorder on the internet. Having said that, I purchased a Sony DCR-HC40 from Abes for a Xmas gift for the wife. It arrived on time and appears to be factory sealed with all accessory items, english manuals. But following the link above for authorizied online retailers, Abes does not show up on Sony's authorized dealers.
So I hope I just didn't void any warrany claims I may have. In 20/20 hindsight, I would have only purchased from a Sony authorized dealer considering the problems many folks have posted about. The comment about pricegrabber is well founded, as well as any other price/search engine link on the camcorder review site. For those such as myself who are not computer or internet savy, it would be nice if this site would have a link to authorized dealers when make a camcorder selction so we can purchase with confidence. Just my 2 cents.
|

03-18-2005, 10:19 PM
|
 |
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
|
|
I emailed someone from Price right photo and they called me back right away and seemed to bypass by shipping question and wanted to process my order. I did not order, yet, but should I? Please let me know ASAP cause I was planning on calling them Monday to order. Is Price Right Photo a dealer...On their website they "say" they are.
Thanks for the help! 
|


03-20-2005, 01:59 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Berkeleygabe
First off, if there are all these dishonest, fly-by-night dealers, and it is widley known throught this website, why are there pricegrabber links that contain these sleezy merchants? Can't they be removed? Someone trusting this website may see those prices and try to purchase from one of the unauthorized dealers......just a thought
also....
I haven't heard anything about Abe's of Maine positive or negative, only seen their prices listed on price grabber. Are they trustworthy?
|
A lot of them are connected to the mob so nothing will happen to them. This is not a joke it's their way of doing business, that is how some of them have been around for years the scum bag dealers I'm talking about. But that would not stop "PriceGrabber.com" from removing them from their own site for advertising. They pay "PriceGrabber.com" good money about $.80 cents a click so why take them off the site.
|

03-20-2005, 02:05 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Svenster
I wish I would have found this thread as it contains very useful information for buying camcorder on the internet. Having said that, I purchased a Sony DCR-HC40 from Abes for a Xmas gift for the wife. It arrived on time and appears to be factory sealed with all accessory items, english manuals. But following the link above for authorizied online retailers, Abes does not show up on Sony's authorized dealers.
So I hope I just didn't void any warranty claims I may have. In 20/20 hindsight, I would have only purchased from a Sony authorized dealer considering the problems many folks have posted about. The comment about Pricegrabber.com is well founded, as well as any other price/search engine link on the camcorder review site. For those such as myself who are not computer or internet savvy, it would be nice if this site would have a link to authorized dealers when make a camcorder selection so we can purchase with confidence. Just my 2 cents.
|
They aren't Sony Authorized Dealers! They get some of their Sony camcorders from http://www.warrensworld.com from Brooklyn the biggest scum bags of all! And other smaller places that are scum bags, all these places get them from Sony Authorized Dealers! Did you hear that Sony?! But sometimes Sony will, or will not cover you if it was obtained from Abe's. That's the risk.
Last edited by XL1S : 04-02-2005 at 02:42 PM.
|

03-20-2005, 02:09 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Penguingirl
I emailed someone from Price right photo and they called me back right away and seemed to bypass by shipping question and wanted to process my order. I did not order, yet, but should I? Please let me know ASAP cause I was planning on calling them Monday to order. Is Price Right Photo a dealer...On their website they "say" they are.
Thanks for the help! 
|
Stay away from them they are not listed with any manufacturer, they are a scam.
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.
|