Go Back   Camcorderinfo.com Message Board > Sony DVD Camcorders > Sony DCR-DVD505
User Name
Password



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:28 AM
austinsmom austinsmom is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Aftermarket Batteries?

Will aftermarket batteries work in this model? I am looking to buy a NP-FP71 / NP-FP90 off ebay.
Reply With Quote



  #2  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:30 PM
MichaelINDY MichaelINDY is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7
ebay batteries

I wonder about the batteries from ebay ventors. I was attracted by the low prices and by the looks of it...the Sony batteries are in "official" Sony packaging....I have asked several questions to the ebay sellers. Most have avoiding my question about the different UPC codes on back of the packages. Please note they are different. In some cases, the photos of the batteries are different too. Some batteris don't have the recycling symbol. I am just not sure if the batteries are genuine but the cost is low and it may be worth while to get one and try it out?
Reply With Quote



  #3  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:30 AM
musikman1 musikman1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 4
Likewise, I have looked at the aftermarket vendors for batteries, as I have NEVER had a Sony branded battery that lived up to it's "infolithium" timing.. IE: At a full charge it will say 209 min, and once it gets to 99 mins, it will shut down with "battery low."

This isn't ONE battery, it's just about any legit Infolithium battery I have ever had (going back some 10-15 years to the original Mavica still cams with the floppy drives!).

Sooo, therefore, getting offbrand batteries that might not "perform entirely up to specs" wouldn't be anything that's a surprise to me.

My personal latest buy is from Amazon.com, the product is:

Merkury Innovations NP-FP90 Lithium Ion Battery For Sony Videos (7.2Volt, 2900 Mah)

Technical Details
Replacement Battery For Sony NP-FP90
1 Year Warranty
7.2 Volt, 2900 Mah
100% Memory Free
Lithium Ion Rechargeable

What swayed me was the the 2900 Mah rating. Either they are out and out lying, or it's got a bit more juice than the other FP90 generics out there (1800-2500). Cost: $25.00 each.

I'll let you know how they work out. I use their generic Canon batteries in my EOS 20D Digital SLR setup and after having the camera sitting on the shelf for six months, the Merkury battery still had an almost full charge when I turned the cam back on (off in Jun, on in Nov), so I have no complaints.

Cheers

Rick
Reply With Quote



  #4  
Old 01-16-2007, 12:59 PM
grhardy3 grhardy3 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria
Posts: 7
Four months ago I bought an 'genuine sony' fp71 from Hong Kong using ebay. I'm completely satisfied with it, especially since it costed 30% of what I would normally pay.
Reply With Quote



  #5  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:02 PM
Peter Dragon Peter Dragon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6
Has anyone followed up to this? I have 2 batteries for my Sony TRV-530, and one has virtually died (ie says its charged to 99 min, then shuts after 4).

Positive results from non-OEM sony batteries?
Reply With Quote



  #6  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:22 AM
Silly Rabbit Silly Rabbit is offline
Active Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
IMO, buying electronics via Ebay (especially when they are shipped from Hong Kong) is very risky. I purchased a Motorola bluetooth earpiece that looked very real, even the packaging. But after visiting the Motorola website (which has guidelines for determining if an item is counterfeit or not), it was clear my item was counterfeit. The seller even had outstanding feedback - 100% for ~400 sales & was located in Texas - but the item was shipped from Hong Kong. Paypal refunded 100% of my money & didn't even ask me to ship the item to them or the seller. So beware. Some of the counterfeits are very good copies & worse, may not be safe.

Last edited by Silly Rabbit : 01-06-2008 at 02:24 AM.
Reply With Quote



  #7  
Old 01-24-2008, 08:46 AM
mariov mariov is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
That amazon one is a very good deal. And remember, is not a fake, they are not telling you is sony.
Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.