|

03-12-2004, 09:56 AM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 8
|
|
|
ridiculous price for gl2..check it out
|

03-12-2004, 04:36 PM
|
 |
Moderator
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 263
|
|
|
That is obviously not a legitimate place. Please do a little research on a company before buying a camera. Check out resellerratings.com. You will never find a gl2 for that price. We only wish they were that cheap. Check out B&h they are legitimate and priced right.
__________________
Canon Gl2
Century Optics .3x Fisheye
|

03-12-2004, 11:42 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 8
|
|
|
they place is actually legit.
only thing is its a wholesale dealer and you can only buy by sending moneygrams.
does anyone know if tyhere is anyway for me to pay in a moneygram?
|

03-21-2004, 02:04 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 3
|
|
|
Canon GL2 from wholesale dealer
Mr Bojangles
Could you tell me about your experience with this wholesale dealer? Canon GL2 at 1299?? I am trying to buy a GL2 as well.
Arifa
__________________
Arifa
|

03-29-2004, 01:29 AM
|
 |
Elite Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN, USA
Posts: 4,582
|
|
|
You have got to be kidding me. This place is screaming SCAM / RIP-OFF. The only thing legitimate about it is that there is a 100% chance you will lose any money you wire them.
Please don't bite on this attempt to steal your money. If you send them cash you will never get your camcorder and there is nothing you can do about it except kick yourself in the rear for being so foolish to wire cash to a stranger for a hollow offer to send you a camcorder at 50% off the going rate. You will get nothing back in exchange for your cash.
Don't do it!
Dave
|

03-29-2004, 12:37 PM
|
 |
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 54
|
|
|
lowest LEGITIMATE price on GL2
$1299 for a NEW GL2?! INSANE, UNTRUE! Don't waste your money. You WILL get ripped off.
I spent two whole months researching magazines, the web, and local retailers for prices on the GL2. Cheapest price from an AUTHORIZED Canon dealer is $1849 (after the $250 Canon rebate). This price comes from www.bestpriceaudiovideo.com
Their parent company, Nirav Corp., is the authorized dealer. I bought mine from them with fast shipping, very friendly and helpful customer service, and I got my $250 check from Canon shortly thereafter.
No other authorized dealer can come close to their price! I asked! I even wanted to haggle because I like supporting local merchants, but they couldn't budge. Nirav can offer the low prices because they buy in very large quantities from Canon.
Check them out and you'll see what I'm talking about.
One bit of caution though. Nirav's prices on the Canon ACCESSORIES varies, so don't be in too much of a rush to buy those. You might find better deals elsewhere. If you want to make all your purchases in one place, ask them for a break on shipping.
If you're looking for batteries, I recommend www.sabahoceanic.com
lowest prices I've ever seen on batteries and they work great!
hope this helps someone!
Marcos
|

03-30-2004, 09:23 PM
|
 |
Active Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 250
|
|
|
GL2 and 123 Camera Fraud
I checked out the $1299 deal on a GL2 from 123 Camera Co.
I sent an email to the Canadian Board of Trade, ironically, located in the Vancouver "World Trade Center" which is the address used for the 123 Camera Co. Below is the response that I received from them and the original email that I sent.
Quote --
As we know, there is no such a company at the address listed. Don't send them any money!! Thanks.
-----Original Message-----
Sent: Monday, March 29, 2004 10:22 PM
To: Wendy Li
Subject: Inquirey regarding legitimacy of business
Hello,
I do not know to whom to direct this inquirey. Perhaps you can be of assistance.
I am a United States citizen and I found a Canadian business web site promoting the sale of a product in which I am interested.
I want to verify if this is a legitmate business, in which I can do business with confidence.
This is the web site: www.123camera.com
This is the address that they listed on their site:
123Camera Co.
World Trade Center
Suite 445
Vancouver, BC
V6C 3E2
There was no phone number listed and they require a cash equivalent method of payment.
Can you verify if this business is legitimate or can you direct me to someone who can do this?
Thanks
|

03-30-2004, 09:54 PM
|
 |
Moderator
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 263
|
|
|
Please don't be fooled by these scammers. Don't waste your time and money just go to a legitimate place.
__________________
Canon Gl2
Century Optics .3x Fisheye
|

04-01-2004, 10:15 AM
|
 |
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
|
|
Another site with low price!
|

04-02-2004, 01:42 PM
|
 |
Elite Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN, USA
Posts: 4,582
|
|
Read what people have to say about them here:
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1895.html
With a 6 month rating of 0.0 and a lifetime rating of .48 on a scale of 0 to 10 with 0 being the worst. You would have to be an idiot if you tried to do business with them. Just read the reports.
Dave
|

04-02-2004, 06:27 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
they place is actually legit.
only thing is its a wholesale dealer and you can only buy by sending moneygrams.
does anyone know if tyhere is anyway for me to pay in a moneygram?
|
Oh no they are not!
I work at OneCall and we are the largest Canon dealer for digital still cameras, and digital camcorders in the US, and B&H is the second largest. There is no such thing as an authorized Canon camcorder wholesale outfit but Canon them selves. Plus that web site is no longer in business check it right now. And no retailer is paying Canon with a "moneygram" to buy product LOL!
|

04-07-2004, 03:38 PM
|
 |
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7
|
|
|
I got excited by one of these places when i was shopping. didn't take much research to figure out their game. XL1s for 2200, GL2s for 1100.. Several ways they do this. Most common is these are refurbs. Another thing is that they are imports, an NTSC camera from phillipines or something that has no warranty..
A lot of these cams have no warranty whatsoever.
And sometimes, they are just full of crap. There's no product whatsoever.
Regardless, if it seems too good to be true, then it most likely is.
You can find all these prices on nextag.com and other sites like that, but the ratings for these folks are the pits.
-marcus
__________________
Marcus Ledbetter
Technology Director
Evergrow
www.evergrow.net
|


04-07-2004, 04:07 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 660
|
|
Quote:
|
You can find all these prices on nextag.com and other sites like that, but the ratings for these folks are the pits.
|
You're right about that. Some places like Ibuydigital.com who have phony ratings because they cheat the rating sites are going to be the most confusing for a customer to make a buying decision based on a phony high rating. If they do not know how to do their research they will most likely take a chance and get burned once, in return they will never buy from the internet anymore. That is something that is out of control and it should not be that way but it is that way.
|

04-07-2004, 05:13 PM
|
 |
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 18
|
|
|
I just got a local, reputable retailer to price-match Beach Camera's $1950 price on a new, USA warranty Canon GL2. After I get my rebate, it would have cost me $1700.
I think this is a good deal considering I've seen used GL2's go at the 1700 range.
Latino
|

04-09-2004, 03:12 PM
|
 |
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 42
|
|
|
$
How much $ do think a GL1or GL2 will go down in an average of 2 years?
__________________
A&P Paintball Productions
-P&L- DeSigNs
Professional Edtier
Paul Lucas
plucas4@mac.com
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.
|